Clinton/Gore '96

September 25, 1996


Washington, D.C. -- The Clinton/Gore campaign today announced the formation of "Rural Citizens for Clinton/Gore ‘96 Committee." With twelve days until the Presidential election, this grass roots organization will mobilize the more than 61 million rural Americans to support the re-election of President Bill Clinton and Vice President Al Gore.

Comprised of farmers, national and local officials, and other rural citizens, this group will continue to communicate the improvements of rural America under the Clinton Administration In addition, members will be conducting Clinton/Gore get-out-the-vote activities in their respective states.

E. (Kika) de la Garza, honorary national co-chair of the "Rural Citizens for Clinton/Gore ‘96 Committee" and a U.S. Congressman from Texas stated, "Thanks to the President’s policies, problems in rural America are being addressed. Net farm income is up, small town manufacturing jobs are up, and people are migrating back to rural places rather than leaving. It is no surprise that rural America is coming together to support the President’s re-election."

Honorary national co-chair Dan Glickman added, "Rural Americans are rallying behind President Clinton because they know that the President has the vision and a plan that will lead rural America to a more prosperous and secure 21st Century."

The formation of the "Rural Citizens for Clinton/Gore ‘96 Committee" follows upon the recent personal endorsement by eighteen state Commissioners and Secretaries of Agriculture of the re-election of President Clinton and Vice President Gore.

In addition to E. (Kika) de la Garza and Dan Glickman, the honorary co-chairs of the "Rural Citizens for Clinton/Gore ‘96 Committee" are Dale Bumpers, who is a U.S. Senator from Arkansas; Patrick Leahy, who is a U.S. Senator from Vermont; Bob Odum, who is the Louisiana Commissioner of Agriculture; and Bob Bergland and Orville Freeman, who are two former U.S. Secretaries of Agriculture.

# # #

Paid for by Clinton/Gore ’96 General Election Committee, Inc.