Clinton/Gore '96

September 14, 1996

The Clinton/Gore '96 campaign has appointed seven distinguished persons to serve as Honorary Campaign Chairs. They are Terence R. McAulliffe, Alma Arrington Brown, Senator David Pryor, Governor Roy Romer, Governor Ann Richards, Linda Chavez-Thompson and Representative John Lewis.

The Honorary Chairs will assist in speaking on the President's behalf and in organizing the President's supporters throughout the country. "These individuals will play a vital role in ensuring our success on November 5th," said Peter Knight, Clinton/Gore '96 Campaign Manager. "We will look to the Honorary Chairs to communicate the accomplishments of the Administration and the President's vision for the future."

Terence R. McAulliffe currently serves as the National Finance Chairman of Clinton/Gore '96 and is Chairman of American Heritage Homes Corporation and President of several real estate related entities. Alma Arrington Brown is presently the Vice President of Community Affairs at the Chevy Chase Bank Corporation and holds a board position with such organizations as the United Negro College Fund and The Girl Scouts of the National Capital Area. Senator David Pryor of Arkansas has distinguished himself through his three Senate terms as a member of the Senate Agricultural Committee; the Senate Finance Committee; and Chairman of the Senate Special Committee on Aging. Governor Roy Romer was first elected to office as a member of the Colorado House of Representatives in 1958 and has served as a Member of the state Senate, as Colorado Agricultural Commissioner and State Treasurer. Governor Ann Richards, who served as Governor of Texas from 1990-94, is now a Senior Advisor with Verner, Liipfert, Bernhard, McPherson & Hand. Linda Chavez-Thompson was elected Executive Vice-President of the AFL-CIO on October 25, 1995. Representative John Lewis of Georgia serves as a member of the House Ways and Means Committee and as Chief Deputy Democratic Whip.


Paid for by Clinton/Gore ’96 General Election Committee, Inc.